Saint Meinrad Seminary & School of Theology

Formation and Education for the Life of the Church

Alumni Obituaries

James E. "Jim" Burns

James GÇ£JimGÇ¥ Edward Burns, 92, St. Francisville, passed away Sunday September 29, 2013 at Good Samaritan Hospital. Jim was born August 20, 1921 in St. Francisville, the son of Edward James and Pearl (DeBeouf) Burns. Jim was a farmer. He married Margaret Chansler on July 26, 1944, and she passed on April 26, 2011. Jim was a lifetime member of St. Francis Xavier Catholic Church, the St. Francisville School Board, Lawrenceville Hospital Board, the Dennison Township Trustee, parish council, and a former Trustee for St. Francis Xavier Catholic Church in St. Francisville. Jim is survived by his children, Mary Jean Kieffer and her husband Jerry of St. Francisville, James R. Burns and his wife Donna of St. Francisville, Charles Burns and his wife Inge of St. Francisville, Virginia Fredrick and her husband Patrick of Vincennes, and Sarah Kavanaugh and her husband J.B. of Newburgh; fourteen grandchildren; eighteen great-grandchildren; and brother Lewis Burns of New Carlisle, OH. He is preceded in death by his parents; wife; one grandson Brian Cockrum; sister Rosemary Cummins; brother William Burns; brother-in-law Glenn Cummins; and sister-in-law Jean Burns. The family will receive friends on Wednesday October 2, 2013 from 9:30 AM CDT (10:30 AM EDT) until time of service at St. Francis Xavier Catholic Church in St. Francisville. A Mass of Christian Burial will be held on Wednesday at the church at 11:00 AM CDT (12:00 PM EDT) with Rev. Bernadine Nganzi Amooti officiating with burial following at St. Francisville Catholic Cemetery. Arrangements were handled by Fredrick and Son McClure-Utt Funeral Home Vincennes Chapel, 313 Church St. Online condolences may be made at www.fredrickandson.com.