Saint Meinrad Seminary & School of Theology

Formation and Education for the Life of the Church


Students receive ministry of acolyte

February 08, 2013

pic_news_MinistryInstallati.jpgTwenty priesthood students from Saint Meinrad Seminary and School of Theology, St. Meinrad, IN, received the ministry of acolyte on February 7, 2013, in the Seminary's St. Thomas Aquinas Chapel. Archbishop Joseph Tobin, of the Archdiocese of Indianapolis, installed the acolytes.

The seminarians receiving the ministry were:
• Adam Ahern, Douglas Hunter, Michael Keucher and Andrew Syberg, Archdiocese of Indianapolis
• Peter Bucalo and Shayne DuVall, Archdiocese of Louisville
• Gerard (Augustine) Carrillo and Hiep Nguyen, Diocese of Cheyenne
• Joseph Chan and Martin Siebold, Diocese of Little Rock
• Michael Cronin, Diocese of Sioux City
• Thomas Dunn and Clive Otieno, Diocese of Joliet
• Aaron Foshee and Lance Warren, Archdiocese of Oklahoma City
• Michael Kuper, Diocese of Springfield-Cape Girardeau
• Daniel Phillips, Archdiocese of Mobile
• Br. Philippe Tchalou, OSB, Monastery of the Incarnation, Togo
• Joseph Tumasian, Diocese of Toledo
• Br. Luke Waugh, OSB, Saint Meinrad Archabbey

An acolyte assists a deacon or priest, primarily in the celebration of Mass. He attends to the needs of the altar and may distribute Communion as an auxiliary minister. He also may be entrusted with the public veneration of the Blessed Sacrament, but does not give the Benediction, since he is not a priest or deacon.

Saint Meinrad Seminary and School of Theology offers initial and continuing education for priests, permanent deacons and lay ministers. A two-year pre-theology program leads to a Master of Arts in Catholic Philosophical Studies. The four-year theology program leads to a Master of Divinity degree.

Lay students can earn a Master of Catholic Philosophical Studies, a Master of Arts in theology or a Master of Arts in pastoral theology. The Permanent Deacon Formation Program offers academic, spiritual and professional formation to permanent deacon candidates, in partnership with individual dioceses.