Saint Meinrad Seminary & School of Theology

Formation and Education for the Life of the Church


Students receive ministry of lector

February 08, 2013

130207_MinistryInstallation_014.jpgTwenty-two priesthood students from Saint Meinrad Seminary and School of Theology, St. Meinrad, IN, received the ministry of lector on February 7, 2013, in the Seminary's St. Thomas Aquinas Chapel. Archbishop Joseph Tobin, of the Archdiocese of Indianapolis, installed the lectors.

The seminarians receiving the ministry were:
• Christopher Boutin and Jeremiah Carter, Archdiocese of Mobile
• James Brockmeier, Peter Jansen, Charles Peñalosa and Kyle Rodden, Archdiocese of Indianapolis
• Terrence DeSilva and John Lijana, Diocese of Lexington
• Charles Dunn, Diocese of Springfield-Cape Girardeau
• Mario Jacobo, Richard Taryn Whittington and Michael Johns, Diocese of Little Rock
• Joseph Maher, Diocese of Springfield
• Patrick Muriithi, Paul Nyabuto and William Obiero, Glenmary Home Missioners
• Kevin Panameño, Diocese of Memphis
• Adam Royal, Diocese of Knoxville
• Jude Sahayam, Diocese of Palayamkottai, India
• Matthew Solyntjes, Diocese of Sioux City
• Tyler Tenbarge, Diocese of Evansville
• Ricardo Prudlente, Diocese of Tulsa

The ministry of lector is conferred upon those who prepare and proclaim readings from Scripture at Mass and other liturgical celebrations. A lector also may recite psalms between the readings and present the intentions for the general intercessions.

Saint Meinrad Seminary and School of Theology offers initial and continuing education for priests, permanent deacons and lay ministers. A two-year pre-theology program leads to a Master of Arts in Catholic Philosophical Studies. The four-year theology program leads to a Master of Divinity degree.

Lay students can earn a Master of Catholic Philosophical Studies, a Master of Arts in theology and a Master of Arts in pastoral theology. The Permanent Deacon Formation Program offers academic, spiritual and professional formation to permanent deacon candidates, in partnership with individual dioceses.