Saint Meinrad Seminary & School of Theology

Formation and Education for the Life of the Church


30 students installed as lectors

February 14, 2014

Pic _news _lector _14Thirty priesthood students from Saint Meinrad Seminary and School of Theology, St. Meinrad, IN, received the ministry of lector on February 13, 2014, in the Seminary's St. Thomas Aquinas Chapel. Auxiliary Bishop Christopher Coyne, of the Archdiocese of Indianapolis, installed the lectors.

The seminarians receiving the ministry were:

  • Brandon J. Bigam and Jeff E. Childers, Diocese of Lexington
  • William W. Burmester, Jose G. Caballero Andrade, Stephen W. Hart, Ramses A. Mendieta-Lacayo, Robert S. Smith and Jerry D. Wilkerson, Diocese of Little Rock
  • Anthony R. Stange, Archdiocese of Indianapolis
  • Omar D. Garcia and Ryan A. McCandless, Diocese of Salina
  • Kelly L. Edwards and Edwin A. Nalagan, Archdiocese of Oklahoma City
  • Colby J. Elbert and Joseph M. Stoverink, Diocese of Springfield-Cape Girardeau
  • David J. Farrell, Archdiocese of Louisville
  • Chris A. Floersh, Diocese of Knoxville
  • Br. Stephen C. Lawson, OSB, St. Anselm Abbey
  • John P. Masterson, Diocese of Memphis
  • Nicholas J. Napolitano, Joseph K. O'Gorman and Jeremy P. Winter, Archdiocese of Mobile
  • Br. David K. N'Djam, OSB, Monastere de l'Incarnation d'Agbang
  • Dua Anh Nguyen and Tam Manh Nguyen, Archdiocese of Hanoi
  • Sangbeom Park, Diocese of Busan, South Korea
  • John Pfister and Jerry L. Pratt, Diocese of Evansville
  • Matthew J. Schmitz, Diocese of Crookston
  • Richard A. Toboso, Glenmary Home Missioners.

The ministry of lector is conferred upon those who prepare and proclaim readings from Scripture at Mass and other liturgical celebrations. A lector also may recite psalms between the readings and present the intentions for the general intercessions.

Saint Meinrad Seminary and School of Theology offers initial and continuing education for priests, permanent deacons and lay ministers. A two-year pre-theology program leads to a Master of Arts in Catholic Philosophical Studies. The four-year theology program leads to a Master of Divinity degree.

Lay students can earn a Master of Catholic Philosophical Studies, a Master of Arts in theology and a Master of Arts in pastoral theology. The Permanent Deacon Formation Program offers academic, spiritual and professional formation to permanent deacon candidates, in partnership with individual dioceses.