The school is incorporated by the State of Indiana as part of Saint Meinrad Archabbey, February 25, 1890, and separately as Saint Meinrad School of Theology, May 25, 1967.

The school is accredited by the Commission on Accrediting of the Association of Theological Schools in the United States and Canada. The following degree programs are approved: Master of Divinity, Master of Arts (Catholic Philosophical Studies), Master of Arts (Theology).

The Commission's contact information is:

The Commission on Accrediting of the Association of Theological Schools in the United States and Canada
10 Summit Park Drive
Pittsburgh, PA 15275
Phone: (412) 788-6505
Fax: (412) 788-6510

The school is also accredited by The Higher Learning Commission.

Institutional Memberships

The Seminary and School of Theology is a member of:

  • American Theological Library Association
  • Association of Graduate Programs in Ministry
  • Association for Theological Field Education
  • Catholic Association of Theological Field Educators
  • Council for the Advancement and Support of Education
  • Federation of Seminary Spiritual Directors 
  • In Trust
  • Mid-West Association of Theological Schools
  • National Association for Catholic Chaplains 
  • National Association for Lay Ministry
  • National Council for State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements - Approved Institution

The Seminary and School of Theology encourages and supports its faculty members in maintaining memberships in the professional and learned societies appropriate to their disciplines and administrative responsibilities.

The school is approved for veterans' educational benefits under Section 1775 of Title 38, United States Code.


Saint Meinrad is committed to a policy of non-discrimination in admissions, education programs or activities, and employment, as required by applicable laws and regulations. Address inquiries to:

      Affirmative Action
      Saint Meinrad Seminary and School of Theology
      200 Hill Drive
      St. Meinrad, IN 47577