Saint Meinrad Seminary & School of Theology

Formation and Education for the Life of the Church


Eight ordained deacons at Saint Meinrad

April 08, 2013

Diaconate 2013 Syberg For WebEight seminarians studying at Saint Meinrad Seminary and School of Theology received the order of deacon from the Most Rev. Joseph Tobin, archbishop of Indianapolis, at the Archabbey Church in St. Meinrad, IN, on April 6.

The newly ordained deacons are Daniel Bedel, David Marcotte, Benjamin Syberg and Timothy Wyciskalla, all of the Archdiocese of Indianapolis; Gwang-Woo (Elijah) Cho and Chul-Min (Michael) Moon, Diocese of Busan, South Korea; Mauricio Abeldano Flores, Diocese of Memphis; and Xavier Raj Yesudasan, Diocese of Palayamkottai, India.

Other members of the class will be ordained at various times in their respective dioceses.

In the Catholic faith, a deacon can preach, baptize, witness marriages, offer Communion to the sick and aged, and perform other ministerial duties. The newly ordained deacons are transitional deacons, meaning they are preparing for ordination to the priesthood. Many Catholic dioceses also have permanent deacons, who carry out the same role, but are not studying for the priesthood.

The seminarians attend Saint Meinrad Seminary and School of Theology, which offers initial and ongoing formation for priests, permanent deacons and lay ministers. The school is operated by the Benedictine monks of Saint Meinrad Archabbey.